This can’t be all there is in this chapter.  Whatever.  Not my circus and all that.4d868de2a59e90bb9e2e6ddb66e0bfc9

This is literally just a small conversation in a car.  Nothing more.  I’m going to skip over everything Willie, because all he does is ask where he’s going and tell Phillip he needs to go to a doctor.  They’ll fix him up at the club.  Riiight.

Seatbelts everyone.

Phillip needs to go to a hospital.  But he’s being a total man about it.  His reasoning is that Anita was hurt way worse the night before, and she’s fine now.

Ominous music.

“What are you thinking, Phillip?”

He turned his head to stare straight ahead.  His face was all silhouette and shadows.  “That I stood up to the master.  I did it.  I did it!”  His voice held a fierce warmth with the last.  Fierce pride.

He’s all full of adrenaline.  Looking back, he probably could have died.  Not a good thing.  I get it though.  He’s taken with these vampires.  But if you look at it, Nikolaos could have rolled him right under.  She didn’t do that.  If she had, he would have been toast.  Same with Willie.  All she had to do was tell him to kill Phillip and he would have been a goner.  He didn’t really do anything but say a few things to her and get knocked around, but I do get it.

After that, there’s this weird beat of revelation.

“You wanted to know who was giving me orders.  It was Nikolaos.  You were right.  That first day.  She wanted me to seduce you.”  He smiled.  It didn’t look right with the blood.  “Guess I wasn’t up to the job.”

Duh.  Of course it was Nikolaos.  We had that figured out from the go.  And here’s a little insight, my friend.  Not every chick can be whisked off her feet with a pretty smile and a sexy body.  That’s not how it works.

Anita goes on to try to re-inflate his ego by telling him the kiss in the bathroom was nice.

I’m sure it was.  Kissing a guy is a nice thing.  Not when you’re being forced into doing it though.  That’s not nice.  It’s like saying, oh, that time you groped my mouth with your tongue was shitty at the time because I didn’t want it and then you bit me, but thinking back, yeah, that was just the dreamiest!

taylor-swift-vma-cursingShut the fuck up.

I agree with Anita on one thing.  That standing up to Nikolaos was stupid.  I’ll give her that.  But this is the pot calling the kettle black.

“Would you be sorry if I died?”

“Yes.”

Lies.

Anita has no idea what he wants from her, and I think frankly, no one does.  It’s not clear at all.  Does he want a relationship with her?  Because he is sick and broken.  Is that why she rebuffs him?  Because let me tell you, this is her type.  She might not know it yet, and the things she does later might stem from guilt over this man, but right here in this moment, I think she is just telling him pretty words to make him feel better.  Like telling him everything’s going to be all right.

Anita Blake lies.  It’s sort of disgusting.

Back to Chapters

Leave a comment